weraout.blogg.se

Monkey audio interface
Monkey audio interface





WAVs from Hard Drive 1 are copied onto here (just straight copying of the files) and processed by Monkey's Audio. This hard drive is periodically "imaged" with Poweerquest Drive Image onto Hard Drive 3, as a back-up which can be easily restored, should Hard Drive 1 ever fail. Once the WAVs have been copied to Hard Drive 2 and had the Monkey'sAudio treatment on Hard Drive 2, the original WAVs are winzipped,and stay on Hard Drive 1. I use a combination of CDex or Media Monkey to rip CDs as WAVs, but any other propriety programme which keeps WAVs as 1440 will be fine. All CDS are (will be) ripped onto here, and stored as WAVs.

monkey audio interface

I agree it is perhaps "overkill" given that I use three hard dtives, and keep copies of both WAVs and APE files on them, but whenever was prevention never better than cure? Here's my suggested routine for using Moneky's Audio as a tool for archiving all your music, whilst enabling great quality playback with Media Monkey. Some CDs will have to be "begged", "borowed" or "stolen" again to do this, or else just left as 64-bit MP3s if Ican't get hold of the originals CDS again, but from now on, Monkey's Audio and Media Monkey will be" the way to go" as far as building up my music library is concerned. Thanks to Monkey's Audio and Media Monkey (as my audio player) and some spare hard-drives, I'm in the process of re-ripping my CDS and re-building my music library to replace all my 64-bit MP3s. By keping back-up copies of Monkey's Audio APE files on a different hard drive (either as straight copies from one drive to another, or imaged with Powerquest Drive Image), you can be certain of bit-for-bit quality restorations, should the drive with your original WAVs fail.And Monkey's Audio is easy to use, follow the suggested routine for compressing your files (High and Extra High are perfectly acceptable for those of you with audophile ears), and you won't go wrong. I like the fact that Monkey's Audio files sound GREAT when played back from my desktop's soundcard into my home Hi-Fi (Denon Amplifier and Speakers, the good quality of which I think speak for themselves). With a little bit of time and effort, Monkey's Audio lets you have "the best of both worlds" as far as quality, restorability, and ease-of-use is concerned (sorry, that should be the best of three worlds!).







Monkey audio interface